RSS

Life-Topic Books

06 Jun

When choosing a book to read, most young readers will choose one that they know will entertain them.  Still others might choose one that takes them to an entirely different world.  Most teachers and parents would probably choose for young children to read what I like to call “life-topic books.”  These books, while presented in an interesting or unique way, address life topics that children need to begin understanding, topics such as racism, death and family relationships.  I have compiled below a list of “life-topic books” from our top 100 children’s books list.  Clicking on the book title will take you to my original post on the novel.

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

My Side of the Mountain

Walk Two Moons

Stargirl

The Great Gilly Hopkins

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret

The Watson’s Go To Birmingham – 1963

Maniac Magee

Because of Winn-Dixie

Bridge to Terabithia

The Giver

Charlotte’s Web

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “Life-Topic Books

  1. Adriana

    June 7, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I’ve read My Side of the Mountain but I can’t think of it’s life topic. Of course it’s been a while since I read it. Why did you consider it a life topic?

     
    • literarywife

      June 7, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      My Side of the Mountain is a survival story, as well as a coming-of-age story, which is why I added it to this list.

       

Leave a Reply

 
