RSS

#6 Holes

23 May

The first time I read Holes, I came away thinking that it was a great story.  The second time I read it, I started to understand the complexity of the novel.  Now, I am finally beginning to understand how intricately woven it is.

From first glance, it is a novel about juvenile delinquents, one wrongly accused and sentenced to an odd camp to serve out his punishment.  Interspersed with tidbits from the past, the reader begins to understand just how the camp, Stanley Yelnats, and his campmates are closely connected.  This novel has it all.  To start off, it is has history.  Stanley’s family history is slowly revealed and we begin to understand him even more.  It has geography, as the layout of the camp is described and the full effects of the terrifically-long drought are emphasized.  It addresses racism and general discrimination, even if in subtle ways.  And it has Stanley as the main character, the most likable protagonist you might ever meet.

Holes

by Louis Sachar

Originally published in 1998

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 23, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#6 Holes

  1. thatcovergirl

    May 30, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Last year I purchased a ton of used books from Seashell books and Holes was one of them. My little brother read it for school back when he was in junior high and I remember him loving it, so I threw it on my purchase list. (My brother doesn’t read) I really need to get my act together and read it, it’s still sitting on my shelf making lonesome puppydog eyes at me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
