RSS

#7 The Giver

20 May

Raised in a dystopian society, Jonas, on his twelfth birthday, is chosen to be the new Receiver of Memories, the sole member of the society that knows and understands about Elsewhere and what the world used to be or currently is outside of the society.  He learns about color and war and love.  Jonas has an incredible maturity and begins to understand just how twisted their society is and wants to do something about it.

The Giver is a book that, once read, hardly needs any introduction.  A revolutionary novel in children’s literature, it introduces the idea of alternate societies and how they can become destructive beyond measure.  Author Lois Lowry took bold steps, in my opinion, writing this novel and introducing these ideas to the children’s lit world.  I have to say, though, that the precision she uses in her world-building is impeccable.  The explanation of Jonas’ world does not bog down the reader, but provides enough information to truly understand the life that he lives.  While not injecting too much emotion in the first quarter to half of the book, the reader is left with enough to begin comprehending the terrible nature of this society.

A classic in dystopian literature, The Giver will hopefully be cherished for decades to come and used by educators and parents alike in teaching their children to think critically about the world around them.

The Giver

by Lois Lowry

Originally published in 1993

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “#7 The Giver

  1. Yehudis

    May 24, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I read this book when I was young and loved it! I would recommend that everyone should read this book. I remember that after I read The Giver it opened my eyes to the world and how life can be for others. I realized that individuals could live their life without thought and emotion, without realizing that they can have a much better life then they have. It helped me appreciate my life and all that I had, loving parents and siblings with important goals to reach in life.
    I think this book can teach children to appreciate all that they have and teach them tolerance. Show children that not everyone is like them. People can be different in many ways but no matter what they are still good people and should be respected.

     
  2. Tiffany

    May 25, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I don’t remember a lot about this book, other than I loved it when I read it in school🙂 I may have to go check it out at the library & read it again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
