RSS

My Summer Plans

19 May

I apologize for the lack of posts lately, but I started my “summer schedule” and I have been a little overwhelmed with life the last few weeks.  This summer, I will be continuing to work evenings and weekends at my public library, as well as do some babysitting.  When C and P were born (they’re twins), I had the privilege of taking care of them a few times a week up until they were about 2.  Now, they are 5 1/2 and they have an 18-month-old sister A and are in need of a summer nanny.  I am really pumped to be taking care of them almost full-time (4 days a week for 9-10 hours a day).  Their mother is not a huge fan of TV and movies, so they have a closet packed full of awesome toys, an overflowing drawer of arts and crafts supplies and hyper-creative minds due to the lack of “screens” in their lives.

However, I know that there are a lot of classic and contemporary children’s “chapter books” that have movies that accompany them and we are hopefully going to have time to read through some of these books together and watch the movie as a reward for finishing it.  P already made the connection that we can pay close attention to the movie and see if it is different or similar to the book.

We started this week with The Tale of Despereaux, one of my favorites.  At first, I could tell that they struggled to pay attention without lots of pictures (there is probably 1 picture to every 15 pages in this novel), but they kept asking me to read more.  I cannot describe how excited I was the next day when they asked, “Amber, please can we read the mouse story this morning?”

Since my Top 100 challenge is soon coming to a close, I am more than happy to continue passing on my love for great children’s novels to important little people in my life.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “My Summer Plans

  1. Ashley

    May 21, 2011 at 11:40 am

    That’s so awesome! You are going to have so much fun with that!

     
  2. Vasilly

    May 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

    It sounds like you’re going to have a really busy summer! I have similar plans with my kids including joining my library’s summer reading program. Have fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
