RSS

#11 The Westing Game

30 Apr

The Westing Game is what I would consider to be the mother of all children’s mysteries.  Maybe the mother of all mysteries.  With 20+ characters stuck in a snowbound apartment building overlooking a mansion, we slowly find out more and more about each one, as they go about solving the mystery of the death of the mansion owner.  Sixteen of the characters are invited to the reading of the will and are asked to take part in the solving of the murder, with a very generous inheritance in store for the winner.

My husband, who studied this book during his Children’s Literature class a few summers ago, warned me that I would need lots of paper for note-taking and character organization.  So this is what my coffee table looked like:

In the end, I did feel like I found a lot of clues within the text, but I ultimately did not solve the crime.  I would definitely recommend this novel to independent children that are adventurous and like to think outside the box.  I can tell that we are getting to the top of the Top 100 list because the books just keep getting better and better.

The Westing Game

by Ellen Raskin

Originally published in 1978

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2011 in Mystery, top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “#11 The Westing Game

  1. Kathy Maxwell

    April 30, 2011 at 9:54 am

    This book sounds so interesting!!! Thanks for the post!

     
  2. thatcovergirl

    May 2, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read this one ever since I did an interview with a designer who absolutely loved it! Glad to see you loved it too.

    I can act like a child, I’m independent, I like to think outside the box, and I like adventure. Perfect match. =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
