RSS

#12 The Hobbit

29 Apr

When I began my challenge of reading through the Top 100 Childrens Books, I had every intention of also watching the films adapted from the books on the list.  Many of the books do not have a film adaptation, but many do.  I started out strong, re-watching The Indian in the Cupboard, Ella Enchanted and a few Harry Potter films.  Then, I remembered how much I don’t really care for book-to-film adaptations.  But now, I am changing my tune to talk about the Lord of the Rings films.  Now, from the book series, only The Hobbit is on our list, but anyone who enjoys the books knows that the books work well together, and that it is a tragedy that filming has just started on the two-part upcoming film The Hobbit.

If you remember, I’m not a huge fan of fantasy, but when I have a well-done film to watch after reading the books, it helps me understand the literature even more.  And when it comes to this series, I wasn’t given much choice as my brother watches the trilogy every chance he gets.  The value that comes from film adaptations that are well done is tremendous.  The LOTR series itself is invaluable in the literary world, whether you “like” the books or not.  Thank goodness that I can change my tune today and appreciate both the books and the films.

The Hobbit

by J.R.R. Tolkien

Originally published in 1938

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#12 The Hobbit

  1. Jeff

    May 3, 2011 at 3:10 am

    I’ve done this the wrong way round – watched the LOTR films and am now trying to read the books (again). My first attempt at reading LOTR failed- I was about 13 and probably lacked the attention span required😀
    Although saying this, at least I could enjoy the films completely without thinking ‘oh, they left this out, that’s not right, that’s not how it happened’… etc.🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
