RSS

Why I Can’t Eat Beans (right now)

27 Apr

During the winter season, I ran across a fantastic 3-bean vegetarian chili recipe.  I made it a few times over the course of a month and my husband and I both enjoyed it tremendously.  After telling my friend (who is the kitchen manager at Bluestem Bistro) about the recipe, she recommended I substitute in Great Northern beans for a change of pace.  To my delight, my granny brought by some wholesale foods a few days after that, that she wanted to give to us and in the box was a package of Great Northern beans.

I decided to substitute the Great Northern beans for the chickpeas in my recipe.  As I let the chili simmer, I thought, “I’m so glad Jenny suggested this.  I’m always up for trying new things.”  But after I sat down with my bowl and took the first bite, I regretted it.  You see, the other two beans in the recipe were black beans and kidney beans, already cooked.  The Great Northern beans I had were dried.  Dried, I say!!  What an amateur mistake I made!  As I chewed and chewed the white beans in the chili amidst the deliciousness that was the rest of it, I couldn’t believe my error.

Admittedly, I tried to salvage the huge pot that I had made by picking out all the white beans, but it was too late in my mind.  I couldn’t stomach the rest of it, even after a few days and a reheated bowl.  Since that time, I flinch at eating beans because I have this idea in my mind that I will bite into them and they will be chewy and undercooked.  So there you have it, my friends.  My confession of the day.  Hopefully I will slowly be able to add beans to my diet again.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Food, Vegetarian

 

2 responses to “Why I Can’t Eat Beans (right now)

  1. Amanda

    April 27, 2011 at 11:43 am

    LOL what a great story! I once used confectioner’s sugar instead of flour in a cookie recipe. Very sweet!

    I would love the original recipe when you have time someday. I’m always looking for great veggie recipes🙂

     
  2. Yehudis

    April 28, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Mistakes like those happen to the best of us. You have your mind somewhere else while cooking, or you are cooking while working on five other chores around the house. A small thing like that slips through the cracks!
    I once made chocolate chip cookies and they smelled heavenly. I took one bite and I almost spit them out. By mistake I put in salt instead of sugar and they all went into the garbage!
    Maybe you can cook the chili again with some more water. That way the hard beans will cook and you don’t have to throw the whole thing out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
