RSS

#16 Harriet the Spy

18 Apr

Growing up, I absolutely loved Harriet the Spy.  I remember having this exact same cover.

I thought Harriet was wonderfully creative and perfectly fulfilled in Michelle Trachtenberg’s role in the film.  She was different and bold and knew what she wanted, even in the midst of adversity.

Then, I read it again as an adult.  My mind became so confused and torn by the fact that Harriet is completely and utterly emotionally unhealthy.  This time around, I had to put the book down a few times to digest the fact that this almost-perfect character was not even close to perfect.  In fact, she was oddly attached to her nanny and kind of a spoiled brat.  Now, it’s not as if I don’t understand the love for this novel and character.  I do.  It’s just that my mind is slowly moving towards the side that isn’t okay with emotional attachment to someone other than a child’s parents.  But I am certainly open to discussion on this.  Did anyone else find themselves having a similar reaction to this character?

Harriet the Spy

by Louise Fitzhugh

Originally published in 1964

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#16 Harriet the Spy

  1. Kathy Maxwell

    April 18, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    I haven’t read the book as an adult. As a child, I remember being intrigued with Harriet’s spy notebook, but I didn’t have the courage (or temerity) to try it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
