RSS

#19 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

11 Apr

It is no small secret that I love Roald Dahl.  It is no small secret that the literary world loves Roald Dahl.  His books are loved for many reasons and for me, it is mostly the premise of each book. The language is beautiful, yes.  The high fantasy is fabulous, of course.  But it has been the premise and plot of each book that has drawn me in since I started reading his books.  However, during my latest re-reading of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, I truly discovered what wonderful characters he has created in his children’s novels.  This was the first time that Willy Wonka had really come alive as a complex character.  He is so creepy yet fantastic in his magical world of candy-making and creativity.

Not only did Willy Wonka come alive for me, but also the children that get to take a tour of the factory.  We all know about the spoiled Veruca Salt and the gluttonous Augustus Gloop, and it is because of Roald Dahl that these names could very well be household names.  Thank you, Mr. Dahl, for setting the standard in children’s literature for characterization.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

by Roald Dahl

Originally published in 1964

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “#19 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

  1. Tiffany

    April 11, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    This was one of my favorite books as a child…maybe because of my fondness (ok, addiction) of candy! I read it several times… Still love the original movie too🙂

     
  2. Kathy Maxwell

    April 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I’ve read several Dahl books, but not this one. Some day! I certainly agree that Dahl has a rare talent for excellent characterization…take the BFG for instance! I love that book!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
