RSS

#21 The Lightning Thief

07 Apr

I have never been one to be interested in Greek mythology.  Blame it on my Christian upbringing.  Blame it on my school’s curriculum.  Blame it on my satisfaction with contemporary literature.  But I just never connected with it.  Now, my friends, all of that has changed.  Percy Jackson, you are my new favorite hero.  Well, okay, I take that back, my dad will always be my hero, but that’s beside the point.

Percy Jackson is a misfit, a good kid caught up in a life that is confusing and seemingly unfair.  His dad is missing from his life, his mom married a total loser, and he doesn’t quite know what to do with himself.  Everything changes when he finds out that he is the offspring of an ancient Greek monster and has a short amount of time to literally save the world from an epic battle.

If you’re thinking this sounds a bit far-fetched and odd for a children’s story, you couldn’t be further from the truth.  Rick Riordan’s writing style connects perfectly to the younger crowd, making Percy totally relateable (in my opinion) and a character worth following and rooting for.  If you want to branch out a bit, pick up The Lightning Thief ASAP.  You will not regret it.

The Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan

Originally published in 2005

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

4 responses to “#21 The Lightning Thief

  1. Tara

    April 7, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! I really liked the series (the movie, not so much) and I think Percy gets better and better in each book.

     
    • literarywife

      April 7, 2011 at 9:57 am

      Awesome! I will have to continue reading the series. Don’t know if I will check out the movie but you never know.

       
  2. Jamie

    April 7, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I LOVE the Percy Jackson books so much! And I always love to hear that other people like them.🙂

     
  3. Adriana

    June 9, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    This book made me laugh so much it is amazing! I’ve always been interested in Greek Mythology so this book just made me love it. The movie wasn’t really well done which is sad but movies never are as great as the books.
    Have you read the Lost Heroes?

     

Leave a Reply

 
