RSS

#22 The Tale of Despereaux

04 Apr

The tally of enjoyable books featuring mice/rats on our Top 100 Childrens Books list has officially reached 2.  You might recall that I was a bit wary about Mrs. Frisy and the Rats of NIMH, but ended up enjoying it tremendously.  The outcome was similar with #22 on our list.

My first time reading The Tale of Despereaux was soon after reading The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane for the first time, as I was wanting to read more by Kate DiCamillo.  I remember getting a tall glass of iced coffee and getting comfy on my porch to sit down and read this book.  A few hours later, my coffee was gone and I had no idea how much time had passed, nor where my husband was or if I had missed any important meetings or whatnot, all because I had loved this book that much.  I got caught up in the fabulous mouse protagonist Despereaux and his tremendous desire to please and love the princess.  Told in a modern day fairy tale style, the third person voice is a bit strange as the author talks to the reader, but I found it quite endearing.  With just a touch of evil mixed in, I feel as if this book is a great read-aloud to children to discuss human nature and the triumph of good over evil.

I was also more than thrilled to purchase a beautiful hardcover version of this book on my trip to Chicago, a version that I hope to read to my children and grandchildren for years to come.

The Tale of Despereaux

by Kate DiCamillo

Originally published in 2003

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

4 responses to “#22 The Tale of Despereaux

  1. marisd

    April 4, 2011 at 8:46 am

    wonderful post! it makes me want to curl up today with a hot cup of coffee and read it given the overcast skies and the cold, blustery wind!

     
  2. thatcovergirl

    April 6, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Have you seen the movie for this? When it came out I wanted to read the book first. Still haven’t gotten around to reading or watching the film, but hope to some day!

    Very cool how you see it as a read-aloud. I’m always interested in read-alouds as I want to do this with my kids some day!

     
    • literarywife

      April 7, 2011 at 9:56 am

      I have not seen the film because I loved the book so much, I didn’t want it to be ruined by the film. This book is definitely a great read-aloud!

       
  3. Adriana

    June 9, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    I’m reading it right now! It’s so good. I kind of don’t want to watch the movie either for the same reason.

     

Leave a Reply

 
