RSS

#23 Little House in the Big Woods

02 Apr

As mentioned previously, Little House in the Big Woods is my favorite in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s historical memoirs.  Surprisingly so, as Little House on the Prairie takes place in my home state, even if it was way before my time.  For some reason, reading about eating maple syrup straight from the tree and having family dances transports me out of my life and into one that I will never have the chance to live.  Maybe this is what subconsciously appeals to us as readers, a plot and/or setting that we will never or rarely experience.

Reading about the Ingalls’ salt-pork shed didn’t quite have me imagining how to build my own, it had me imagining an experience that Laura experienced and was talented enough to share with us.  Even though I read a lot of contemporary literature, I do find myself picking up books with plots or settings that are not reminiscent or indicative of my future.  Is this true with you?  Do you read paranormal because you like to experience a world other than your own?  Do you enjoy reading novels with insta-love because you know it won’t ever happen to you in real life?  Do you enjoy memoirs or travelogues because you don’t have the funds or opportunity to travel or try something new?

Little House in the Big Woods

by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Originally published in 1932

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “#23 Little House in the Big Woods

  1. Kathy Maxwell

    April 2, 2011 at 9:39 am

    I’m attracted to realistic fiction, mysteries, fantasies, and historical fiction. And I love the Little House series. This I remember from Big Woods…sugar snow, roasted pig tails, and pig bladder balls.

     
  2. Jamie

    April 2, 2011 at 9:53 am

    I used to LOVE the Little House series just for that reason when I was little! I would play pretend after reading them and try to imagine what life would be like in those times. It was just soo different from my normal life..obviously…and I was so curious.

    I do read to transport myself sometimes. Sometimes I want to get a different perspective or travel vicariously or just leave the mundane behind. Sometimes I do read though to get myself THINKING about real life…there are some books that don’t really transport me but they make me think a lot and I love that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
