RSS

#25 Little Women

28 Mar

When I first started reading Little Women, I was discouraged.  I do not do well with literary classics (ironically enough) and the copy that I read is almost 800 pages long.  For the first few chapters, I became extremely annoyed with Amy and her whining and obsession with herself.  I ended up setting page goals in order to finish the book because I was so overwhelmed with the length and tone.

I can’t exactly pinpoint when or where in the book that I got sucked in, but I most certainly did.  I just remember sitting on the couch to read and it seemed as if a hundred pages flew by and I was craving more.  I had never read this book or heard what exactly happens throughout the story.  All I knew going into it was that it was about four sisters.  So when I came to the realization that Beth was, in fact, going to die, I started shaking with anxiety.  I had to put the book down and talk to my husband for a few minutes, letting him calm me down and realize that it was just a story.  I was devastated not only when Beth died, but also when Jo chooses not to marry Laurie.  I felt as if he was cheated out of a best friend for life and, let’s all admit it, Amy is obnoxious.

Little Women may be added to my “read once a year” list of books because I enjoyed it so much and it is a book that you can glean a lot from each time you read it.

Little Women

by Louisa May Alcott

Originally published in 1868

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

5 responses to “#25 Little Women

  1. Amanda

    March 28, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Glad it ended up working for you – I think for my part, I’ll stick with the movie!

     
  2. Annette

    March 28, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I didn’t realize this book was that long. I remember reading it, probably in junior high, and loving it. Maybe I read and abridged version???? Now, I’m wondering. I did read voraciously, so I could have read it. I don’t remember many details, so maybe it’s time for another read. I liked it so much I know I read Little Men too.

    Thanks for the reminder!

     
  3. Larissa

    March 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    This is one of my favorite books ever! I should read it again! I absolutely love the characters, especially Jo and Laurie! This is 2nd next to Pride and Prejudice!

     
  4. Tara

    March 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I know I read this book when I was younger (10+ years ago) but I can’t for the life of me remember what its about😦 I am trying to read more classics this year and I should add this one to the list!

     
    • literarywife

      March 29, 2011 at 3:14 pm

      I’m so glad you are trying to read more classics. You should definitely add this one!

       

Leave a Reply

 
