RSS

Featured Recipe: Eggs Florentine Casserole

17 Mar

I seem to have this weird quirk that makes me never want to follow a recipe exactly.  I don’t care for measuring ingredients or being strict about what exactly I put into a meal.  Maybe that’s why my attempts at baking have failed.  In the case of this recipe adapted from the recipe featured on The Pioneer Woman’s blog, it was a matter of changing the casserole into a vegetarian one.  The hubby and I really enjoyed this one, as it included literally our favorite foods and it was quite easy to make.

Ingredients needed:

3-4 potatoes

5-6 ounces of fresh spinach leaves

2-3 cups of cheese (I used a cheddar jack mix)

12 large eggs

vegetable oil

1.  Wash, peel and slice the potatoes.  I kept my slices pretty large, but you can do hashbrown style, if you wish.  Fry the potatoes until crispy and arrange them in the bottom of a 9 x 13 casserole dish, as such.

2.  Whisk together eggs, spinach and cheese mixture.  It will look so pretty.

3.  Pour egg/spinach/cheese mixture on top of the fried potatoes and try to keep the mixture even across the dish.

4. Bake the casserole at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes. If you wish, you can remove the casserole after 15 minutes, sprinkle some more cheese on top, and put it back in for another 5-10.  Either way, it is delicious.

5.  Enjoy!

For those carnivores in the room, feel free to refer to the original recipe referred to above to know how to add sausage or other breakfast-type meats.  I won’t be a hater if you want to add a little more flavor.  To each their own, I say, to each their own.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Featured recipe, Vegetarian

 

4 responses to “Featured Recipe: Eggs Florentine Casserole

  1. shabbygeek

    March 17, 2011 at 11:12 am

    OMG. This looks deeeeeelish.

     
  2. Yehudis

    March 17, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Some people have a natural talent for cooking. They never have to use recipes, know what ingredients taste good together, and their food is delicious. That is my father.
    On the other hand, I almost always have to use a recipe. I love to cook and my food tastes great but I can’t really cook without a guide to follow. I always wanted to know how to cook without a recipe. Have any tips that can help me?

     
    • literarywife

      March 18, 2011 at 9:31 am

      To each their own is what I say to that! My best advice is to take time to experiment with things. I have had experiments turn out terrible and some that have been delicious. Also, the more recipes you try, the more you will pick up what goes well with what.

       
  3. Tara

    March 20, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    This sounds so good! Must try this out since your veggie pot pie was such a hit🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
