RSS

Paranormal Week: Other Novels

10 Mar

I read quite a few YA paranormal novels in preparation for this week and just to get a taste of what is out there.  Some of the books that I wanted to feature cannot be classified in the previous posts this week, so here is a random conglomeration of other books that I read.

Sleepless by Cyn Balog (click on image for more information)

A story about Sandmen and their interactions with their human charges really peaked my interest as I felt these creatures and their “stories” to be different from a lot of paranormal novels out there.  Unfortunately, the novel was flawed in a few too many ways for me to truly enjoy it.  The main Sandman in the book was fabulous and really came to life for me, but there was too much going on and too many discrepancies for the actual story to flow in my reading.  I have heard good things about Cyn Balog, though, so I hope to read her other paranormal novel, Fairy Tale, soon.

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Main character Evie is a member of the International Paranormal Containment Agency and has been for most of her life.  She enjoys her life capturing and living amongst paranormals, but sometimes she just wants to be a teenager.  This is the book that tipped me over the paranormal edge.  I was kind of on the fence about this genre, but that is old news.  Kiersten White nailed the teenage persona with the character of Evie, with her desire for a boyfriend and a locker in a real school.  But Evie is independent and bold, wanting the best for the people in her world, capturing my heart with her every more.  Paranormalcy may not contain the poetic-type writing of Maggie Stiefvater, but the snark and teenage angst are spot-on.

Deception by Lee Nichols

Emma can see ghosts. Not only can she see ghosts, but she can communicate with them, compel them to do her bidding and generally understand their nature and world. When she finds this out, her life is turned upside down and she must figure out for herself who she is and what her future will hold.  Emma is a kick-butt character in a potentially awesome story. She is bold, honest, sarcastic, and swoons at the sight of a wonderful, caring man. She is real to the point of being thoroughly confused by her past and the secrets her family has to hide. She is courageous enough to accept her ghostkeeping abilities and face evil head-on.
Unfortunately, Emma’s character and the premise of the story are hindered by awkward pacing and a lack of explanation for a lot of happenings and features of the story. I will admit that I did read this novel quickly, racing through to find out what would happen to Emma and the people in her life, but in the end I was just a bit confused. How exactly does ghostkeeping work? How does Emma control and use her powers for good? What exactly did happen in her family’s past?
I understand that this is the first novel in a series, and that a lot of my questions might be answered in the forthcoming novels, but there were just too many key points missing.

So there you have it, my friends, the beginning of my relationship with paranormal YA books.  Stay tuned tomorrow for a giveaway!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 10, 2011 in Paranormal, YA Books

 

One response to “Paranormal Week: Other Novels

  1. Dawn

    March 10, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I just wanted to thank you again for the Nancy Drew books and memorabilia supplied by Simon & Schuster! What fun when the box was delivered to my classroom and the students could get a glimpse of our new books! I’m soooo appreciative….thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
