RSS

Paranormal Week: Werewolves

09 Mar

Werewolf: a human with shape-shifting abilities after being bitten by another werewolf or put under a curse.  After said human is bitten or cursed, they shift into a wolf or wolf-like creature, usually with the cycle of the moon.  Werewolves are often attributed with superhuman strength and senses.

Okay, technically, I did read Sisters Red a while back, but I am featuring mostly book series this week and have really been wanting to read the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, so I did.  And wow, can Maggie Stiefvater write.

In this series, we meet Sam, a teenage werewolf with his eyes and heart set on a human girl, Grace. Grace has had a strange obsession with the pack of wolves living in the woods in her backyard ever since she was bitten as a child.  Sam and other werewolves are members of the pack that she has faithfully watched, but when human-form Sam enters her life and she falls in love, her world is turned upside down.  I will admit that I didn’t fall in head-over-heels love with SHIVER, but LINGER was a heart-stopper for me.  The introduction of Cole and the expansion of Isabel’s character were brilliant.  Stiefvater’s ability to create, maintain consistency yet allow elasticity with characters is something to be noted with this series.  Her poetic style of writing (not poems, but poetic) sucked me in, making me feel as if the book had no edges or folds, just flowing and flowing until the brilliant ending.   I love books that make you want to re-read them directly after finishing them for the first time, and LINGER was one of them.  The only downfall with this series is that the final book, FOREVER, doesn’t come out until summer 2011.

Reading about werewolves has generally left a good taste in my mouth, but it probably doesn’t hurt that I am featuring and “losing my paranormal virginity” with the most-recommended werewolf series in YA books.  I am interested in reading more books about werewolves and their packs, but not necessarily racing out to read every one.  Similar to my take on Richelle Mead’s writing, I am just a huge fan of Stiefvater’s writing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 9, 2011 in Book Review, Paranormal, Scholastic

 

One response to “Paranormal Week: Werewolves

  1. thatcovergirl

    March 12, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I read Shiver and loved it. Sadly I have Linger on my bookshelves and still haven’t had a chance to read it! So glad you’ve enjoyed this series so far.

     

Leave a Reply

 
