RSS

Paranormal Week: Faeries

08 Mar

Faeries = to be honest, a definition for fey is hard to nail down.  Let’s just say they are human in appearance and have magical powers.  Their further role and mishaps vary throughout literature.

For my fey book of choice in “losing my paranormal virginity,” I chose to check out Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series, at the suggestion of Kristi at The Story Siren.  In this five book series, we are introduced to a very large cast of characters in what I consider to be a semi-complicated world.  I am admitting weakness in being able to summarize these books, so here is the official synopsis of the first novel, Wicked Lovely:

All teenagers have problems, but few of them can match those of Aislinn, who has the power to see faeries. Quite understandably, she wishes that she could share her friends’ obliviousness and tries hard to avoid these invisible intruders. But one faery in particular refuses to leave her alone. Keenan the Summer King is convinced beyond all reasoning that Aislinn is the queen he has been seeking for nine centuries. What’s a 21st-century girl to do when she’s stalked by a suitor nobody else can see?

So, through Aislinn, we enter into the world of the fey.  Though I only read the first two in the series, it is my understanding that each book focuses on a different group of people, all of which are intertwined in the fey world in Huntsdale.  I absolutely raced through the first novel, absolutely adoring Aislinn and her human love interest, Seth.  The faery world is seemingly intricate and it admittedly took some brain power to swim through all the court aspects of their world and connecting the characters to each other in the right way, but in the end, the effort was well worth it.  Melissa Marr has a knack with dark themes and true emotions shining through her characters.  I got so involved with the characters, sometimes I would have to step back and remind myself which were fey and which were human.  The Wicked Lovely series is one that I will definitely be finishing and Melissa Marr has been added to my “insta-read” author list.

Also, the big news involving this series is that my first experience with fey left a very sweet taste in my mouth.  Book series or stand-alone novels involving fey will definitely be on my radar and put on my TBR if recommended by friends, as I have become interested in their intricate world and actions.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Harper Collins, Paranormal

 

3 responses to “Paranormal Week: Faeries

  1. Jen

    March 8, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    This is my favorite series ever. I am so ridiculously happy to hear you enjoyed them! READ THE REST ASAP!

     
  2. Tiffany

    March 15, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I want to read these!!! Going to see if our library has them🙂

     
    • literarywife

      March 15, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      If you win my giveaway, you will get the 2nd book in the series!

       

Leave a Reply

 
