RSS

Paranormal Week: Vampires

07 Mar

Vampires: Beings who thrive and, in essence, live off of the blood or other life sources of humans. Vampires can be living or “undead” creatures.

For my vampire choice in “losing my paranormal virginity,” I chose to read the Vampire Academy series.  Well, I actually read the first two books in the series, but felt as if I got a good feel for Richelle Mead’s writing and the series itself.  Let me tell you, I LOVED THEM!  I will, most definitely, be finishing up this series soon. 

In these novels, the main characters are students at St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school at which both vampires and their future guardians, dhampirs, attend.  At this academy, the guardians learn how to protect and defend both themselves and their future charges, most likely royal vampires.  The students also learn about different types of magic used by vampires, animal behavior and physiology and other cultural and artistic subjects.  Upon graduation, the guardians are assigned to specific vampires, vampires which they will protect for the rest of their lives.

Rose Hathaway and Lissa Dragomir have been best friends almost their entire lives.  They have a special mental bond and know that it is pretty much inevitable that Rose will end up Lissa’s guardian because of that bond.  But Rose is not just your average student.  She assisted Lissa in escaping the Academy (a near-impossible feat) in order to keep her safe and has vowed in her mind to protect Lissa at all costs.  The series is told from Rose’s point-of-view and she is nothing short of an amazing protagonist.  She is tough, bold, mouthy and willing to sacrifice her life to protect Lissa.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

And Rose’s love interest, Dimitri?  Wow, just wow.  Also a guardian, he has been assigned to be Rose’s individual teacher and keep her well-trained and knowledgeable on protecting her charges.  Normally, as in, never, do I swoon for male characters in books.  Maybe it’s because I live with my favorite male character, I don’t know, but I just don’t get attached to male characters.  Dimitri is the exception.  Richelle Mead, you broke my norm and made me fall for Dimitri.  Girl. Can. Write.

Now that I’ve shared all the good news about this series and my foray into vampire books, here’s the bad news.  I didn’t walk away enjoying the vampiric world or the paranormal creatures themselves.  I would read anything that Richelle Mead wrote, but will never again consider any other vampire books or series.  Maybe it’s my aversion to objects puncturing the skin to draw blood.  Maybe it’s the constant reminder throughout the books of my tendency to get weak and pass out because I am a nimrod hypochondriac.  It doesn’t really matter to me what drives me away from them, I just won’t choose to read any more vampire books.  Hey, at least I tried.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Book Review, Paranormal

 

2 responses to “Paranormal Week: Vampires

  1. Ginger @ GReads!

    March 7, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Well, at least you tried! I commend you for that. I’m so happy you’ve enjoyed the Vampire Academy series so far, though. I think it’s a good series to read for someone who may not be a fan of vamp lit. Richelle Mead has a knack of making you forget you’re even reading about paranormal creatures! Let me know when you continue on with the books. The 3rd one, Shadow Kiss is probably my favorite🙂

     
  2. Annette

    March 7, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I’ve heard so many good things about this series. I really am going to read it! I just need to figure out when …

    Thanks for the great review.

     

Leave a Reply

 
