RSS

#30 Winnie the Pooh

03 Mar

Winnie the Pooh is a classic children’s book that started a plethora of further stories, toys, videos and stuffed animals.  There is no doubt that A.A. Milne had a way with words and understood the minds of children, considering that he wrote the series for his son, Christopher Robin.  Edward Bear, better known as Winnie-the-Pooh, captivated the hearts of children and parents countless times, and still continues to permeate our culture with aforementioned toys, videos, etc.

That being said, I promised to be honest and honestly, Winnie-the-Pooh and his buddies annoyed the heck out of me. I couldn’t wait to finish the book because they were so obnoxious with their silliness and mishaps.  Maybe it was the time in my day that I was reading the book or maybe it was the 2 books that it was sandwiched between in my reading list.  But the thing is, guys, we are entitled to our own opinions.  We are allowed to be critical thinkers when it comes to the literature that we read.  Why do you think I have a blog?  I like to have a place where my opinion is heard.  Even though I am sitting here disagreeing with the millions of people who love this novel, does that discredit Milne’s writing and stories?  Absolutely not.  Even if you don’t like my opinion on books or my writing style, does that mean I have to stop blogging?  Absolutely not.  I love freedom. . .

Winnie the Pooh

by A.A. Milne

Originally published in 1926

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 3, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#30 Winnie the Pooh

  1. Ashley

    March 3, 2011 at 9:50 am

    You sound almost scared at the end there… Lol. The review I’m posting today makes me a little nervous too… I have a childhood classic I didn’t much love too.:/

    I did love Winnie-the-Pooh, but mostly, I think, because I was young when I read it. Not so young that the language was weird to me, but young enough that I was just oh so excited to be reading about them. My parents bought me the complete tales for Christmas one year.❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
