RSS

#31 Half Magic

28 Feb

I am beginning to look forward to these books on the Top 100 Childrens Books list that involve four siblings and their adventures.  Guys, there are quite a few of these on the list (The Saturdays, The Penderwicks, etc.).  I think the reason why I enjoy these books goes back to the structure of my family.  I was an only child for six years.  My brothers were born 18 months apart and seem to have this weird connection in which they can have conversations without actually speaking.  While I don’t share this connection with them, I do love my brothers and wish for the days when the gap in our ages won’t matter so much.  I am jealous of the children in these books who have siblings they are so close to that they can go on adventures together.

In Half Magic, we meet Jane, Mark, Katharine and Martha, children of a single mother working hard to give them a good life.  The siblings are bummed that they can’t spend their summers in the country or on the lake like their peers, and mope around with their precious library books until they find what seems to be a magic coin.  Well, a half magic coin.  In order to be granted their wishes in full, they must wish for twice as much of what they actually want.  They find themselves in crazy places having to fix their mistakes because of this magic coin.  While I probably wouldn’t choose to read this book again, I would highly recommend it for the family aspect of it, siblings working together to make each others dreams come true, and working hard to fix it when their dreams aren’t quite what they expected.

Half Magic

by Edward Eager

Originally published in 1954

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#31 Half Magic

  1. Kathy Maxwell

    March 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I recently bought the whole series and look forward to reading them someday soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
