RSS

#33 James and the Giant Peach

22 Feb

I want to take a moment to begin a discussion on believability.

Here’s the deal: Roald Dahl books are not believable.  They are high-fantasy, “who in their right mind could have thought of this stuff?” wonderful-beyond-imagination books.  Am I right?  I think most would agree.  When I sat down to read James and the Giant Peach, I finished it in less than 2 hours but felt as if it took ten minutes to read it because I was so caught up in this giant peach and its inhabitants.  After I finished and put the book down I thought to myself, “That is just a crazy story.  Who would honestly believe that could happen?”  But I want to ask you, my readers, DOES IT MATTER?

I know that some of you like to stick to contemporary or realistic fiction.  Some of you like high fantasy or paranormal.  Some of you prefer dystopian novels.  I value each and every one of your opinions and now is your time to shine.  I truly want to know if it matters to you whether the story you are reading is believable.  Make this post your sounding board, my friends.

James and the Giant Peach

by Roald Dahl

Originally published in 1961

 
 

3 responses to “#33 James and the Giant Peach

  1. Jamie

    February 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    The only time I really mind if it is believable or not is when it is realistic fiction. If you jump off a bridge, survive and then outrun the mafia only to run into Justin Beiber whom you date and then marry and have lots of babies with…well then I’m going to be pissed because there is JUST no way that is going to happen.

    However, if I’m reading a genre that I already know to expect unbelievable elements..then I’m all good.

    I personally like reading a mixture of both. I love getting lost in some completely unbelievable world..I love the imagination and the step back away from our world. But then sometimes I like to be grounded and reading something contemporary and realistic that keeps my head from floating too far in the clouds! :)

    I love James and the Giant Peach by the way!

     
  2. Ashley

    February 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    I totally agree with Jamie! If I know going into the story that there will be fantastical elements, I’m good. But if crazy stuff pops up in the middle, like the random telepathy in the middle of my contemporary read, then I’m pissed. I feel the same about movies and stuff too. If I know going in it’s craziness, then I don’t have a problem with it. :)

     
  3. Shelley

    February 23, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I think the great think about reading is finding a book that is completely unrealistic, but the author makes it feel real. Expectation is key too. You know going into Dahl that you are going to go down some wacky path, and you can revel in it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

