RSS

A Few Changes. . .

19 Feb

For those of you that have been following my blog from the beginning (a meager ten months ago), you know that I have included a few recipes and posts on cooking experiences along the way.  Originally, I wanted my blog to be focused on 2 things: books and my life as a wife, hence the title, The Literary Wife.  Along the way, it has become mostly focused on books.  As the Top 100 Childrens Books reading challenge finishes up, I will be making some changes to refocus what I write about and feature here on the blog.  Be prepared for some rambling. . .

I love being a wife.  Being a wife is often difficult and challenging, but for the most part rewarding.  At this point in our lives, our biggest role is supporting each other emotionally and making decisions together.  We don’t have children or a big house to tend to.  We have enough money to enjoy our lives with ease, but not too much that we are spending it all the time.  All that to say that, if I talked about my life as a wife right now, you would be bored and get tired of hearing me rave about how great my husband is.

However, one of the most important roles that I have right now is the cook in our family.  Before I go into detail about that, I want to address the issue of gender roles in families.  I am not the cook in our family because I am the woman.  I am not the apartment-cleaner in our family because I am the woman.  I am not the grocery-shopper because I am the woman.  I do these things because, currently, I am working part-time while my husband works at least 40 hours a week.  Previously, when I was working an 8-5, he was working 50-55 hours a week.  We decided that I would be in charge of these things because I had more free time, not because I am the woman and he is the man.  I want to clear that up so you know 1) that I am not a big fan of traditional gender roles in marriage and 2) my husband is fabulous because he has volunteered numerous times to go grocery shopping or cook after a long day at work.

Now, on to the cooking part.  Before I got married, my diet consisted of frozen pizza and Kraft macaroni and cheese.  I wish that I was kidding you.  After I got married, my husband and I discussed moving to a vegetarian or a flexitarian lifestyle, which requires a lot more work and thinking than being a carnivore.  It is because of this that I have acquired a genuine love of being in the kitchen.  Cooking meals for my family is my large contribution, as it requires thought and effort to keep us under budget, healthy and enjoying each other’s company while eating.  As I move forward with my blog, I want to share with you my love of cooking, hoping that you can glean something from the knowledge that I have acquired and maybe pick up a favorite recipe or two.

Here are some things you will NOT see here on the blog:

  • Recipes in which meat is the main course or the majority of the dish (while I will not push vegetarianism on you, I just do not have interest in huge bulks of meat in recipes that I feature)
  • Me bragging about all the expertise that I have in the kitchen or with food.  This is the point of me talking about cooking, the fact that I know little to nothing and I want you to be along for the ride as I learn to navigate the kitchen and a vegetarian lifestyle.
  • Baking or sweet recipes.  I’m sorry, Ginger, but I do not enjoy cupcakes (or cookies or pies) in the least and I don’t see much point writing about things that I won’t even eat.

Here are some posts you might see in the future on the blog:

  • Cookbook reviews
  • Featured recipes
  • Thoughts on the vegetarian/flexitarian lifestyle
  • Guest posts from my friends who have knowledge on cooking
  • Easy-peasy recipes
  • Tips for maintaining a usable and comfortable kitchen

These are just some ideas that I have floating around, some of which might not make the cut.  I just wanted to give you an idea of what to expect, as I am not one that enjoys surprises.  And please keep in mind that this is still The Literary Wife, and I will still be featuring YA and children’s book reviews.  Thanks for reading through this huge post and I would love to hear your thoughts about my blog and its future.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2011 in Food, Married Life

 

6 responses to “A Few Changes. . .

  1. Amanda

    February 19, 2011 at 8:55 am

    I grew up in a house where there really was no cooking. My mom had a set of about 10 meals she knew how to make, and because with four kids we were always on the move, she would make 5 or 6 on the weekend and we’d just thaw them out and put them in the oven during the week. Once a week or so, I would make spaghetti as our one not-pre-made meal.

    I thought I wanted to learn to cook. I read cooking magazines and with my brother started to learn some techniques. Mostly it was little things. Before I lived on my own, I never even heard of kidney beans, for instance. I’d never had mustard or chicken breasts. So when I first moved out of the house, I thought I wanted to cook.

    The first time I ever had the opportunity to cook was at the same time Jason came to live with me, a few months before we got married. At first it worked out well – he liked to cook too, and we would cook together. But after we got married, we moved to a smaller apartment and we started to realize we had big differences in cooking. I was very efficient and always tidied things up while I went. Jason was very scatterbrained and used about ten times more dishes in cooking than I did, while never putting anything away or rinsing stuff out. After awhile, I started to get panic attacks in the kitchen, and quit cooking altogether.

    Now, I stay out of the kitchen as much as possible. I told Jason I would start taking care of the dishes again the day he started rinsing and stacking them so that they wouldn’t take hours to do. That was in 2002 and he has never bothered. He finds it easier to just do dishes than to take care of them while he cooks. I, for my part, have learned not to have a heart attack about the state of the kitchen by simply avoiding it as much as possible. It’s not a great truce, but it’s the only one we can handle.

    I think in another life i might have loved cooking, but in reality I’ve grown to detest the subject…sigh.

     
  2. Jermaine D.

    February 19, 2011 at 10:30 am

    I would love learning some more easy, vegetarian meals, bring it on!

     
  3. thatcovergirl

    February 19, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Yay, can’t wait to read about some recipes! I also think it would be fun to feature some of your favorite cooking tools/tips. I’ve got a few little gadgets I can’t live without, and I’m always interested in reading about others’, too.

     
  4. Melanie

    February 19, 2011 at 11:29 am

    You already know I’m excited about this🙂

    Can’t wait to see what you’re cooking and steal some recipes!

     
  5. amanda

    February 19, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Have you seen the new Happy Herbivore cookbook? I’m thinking about getting it, even though it’s vegan and I’m definitely not that hardcore. I’m not sure if you’ve heard of her blog, but I’ve heard great things about the cookbook from several other blogs that I follow. happyherbivore.com

     
  6. Annette

    February 19, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Sounds good to me. I love to cook, and am a “low meat” eater. I do eat sea food, and if I’m at a dinner or something somewhere that there aren’t veggie options, I will eat some meat, but I don’t eat a lot of it. I’m looking forward to your recipes. I also post about cooking on my other blog, if you are interested. http://annetteshobbyspot.blogspot.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
