RSS

#35 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

15 Feb

Have I mentioned before that I love the Harry Potter series?  I’m not a fanatic, I don’t even own all the books yet, but I do thoroughly enjoy the characters, the storyline, the triumph of good over evil, and most especially, the relationships amongst the characters, which really stood out to me in this reading of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, #35 on the Top 100 Children’s Books list.

Quite a bit happens in this novel, as Harry participates in the Tri-Wizard tournament, people start to go missing, and he and Ron start to discover what girls are all about.  When Ron finally believes that Harry did not put his name in the Goblet of Fire, I teared up a bit with the discovery of how much Ron loves Harry and treasures him as a friend.  As Hermione forsakes her own studying to assist Harry in the third task of the tournament, I teared up again at the thought of such deep care in friendship.  While we know that Harry is the star of this literary show, the supporting characters are critical to understanding just how triumphant Harry can be over the evil that is the dark side of magic.  I know so many people who will rave about a supporting character that just made them love the series so much more.  Author J.K. Rowling has not only created a magical world worth delving into, but a cast of characters that you cannot help but love.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

by J.K. Rowling

Originally published in 2000

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “#35 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  1. Amanda

    February 15, 2011 at 11:53 am

    This is my least favorite book in the series, but still, it’s Harry Potter, and I AM a fanatic.😀

     
  2. Yehudis

    February 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    I love the Harry Potter books. My whole family was in to them, reading each one as they came out. When a book can be read by all ages it’s one of the ways you know it’s a good book. My family use to listen to the books on audio when we went on long trips. It kept everyone entertained for hours!

    I think that J.K. Rowling bring her characters to life making you feel like you can identify with them. You mention how the supporting characters are so important to understand Harrys’ success over evil, the dark side of magic. I think the book would not be the same with out all the characters. They help the book come to life and feel real.
    You also see the power of friendship. How friends can bring you up and tear you down. I think you can learn great lessens from this book.
    Do you know of any other good books that teach lessons of friendship that I can read or suggest others to read?

     

Leave a Reply

 
