RSS

Wizard of Oz: The Movie (Pt. 2)

27 Jan

Welcome to WIZARD OF OZ WEEK! This week, I am featuring posts on The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and it’s accompanying classic film, The Wizard of Oz.  Yesterday, I shared my thoughts on the film and today I wanted to offer more thoughts on the music and dancing of the film, as well as some “notable quotables” from the film.

Having participated in the musical myself on stage, I do have a certain appreciation for the music and dancing in this film.  From Dorothy singing “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” to the continual “We’re Off to See the Wizard,” the songs perfectly fit the scenes and emotions of the characters.  My favorite scene, Dorothy in Munchkinland, offers not only colorful, kind characters, but also their cheery songs full of hope and gratitude.

When Dorothy and her pals arrive in the Emerald City, the Land of Oz, they are spruced up by the citizens, before they go to see the wizard.  They are treated with such care, as the Scarecrow is re-stuffed, the Tinman buffed, and Dorothy gets her hair done, all while the city’s citizens sing about their wonderful life.  The song is the perfect anticipation to see the wizard, as well as the perfect way to introduce the seemingly wonderful life the citizens have.

NOTABLE QUOTABLES:

“It’s a twister, it’s a twister!”    -Farmhands

“Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”    -Dorothy

“Never let those ruby slippers off your feet for even a second or you will be at the mercy of the Wicked Witch of the West.”   -Good Witch Glinda

“What would you do with a brain if you had one?”     -Dorothy

“A man made out of tin!”     -Dorothy

“Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!”    -Dorothy

“Poppies, poppies, poppies will put them to sleep.”     -Wicked Witch of the West

“Nobody can see the Great Oz.  Nobody’s ever seen the Great Oz.”    -Emerald City gate guard

“She may be dying, and it’s all my fault.  I’ll never forgive myself, never, never, never.”      -Dorothy

“I may not come out alive, but I’m going in there.”       -Lion

“Who would have thought a good little girl like you could destroy my wickedness?”  -Wicked Witch of the West

“Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.”   -Wizard of Oz

“Oh, Auntie Em, there’s no place like home.”   -Dorothy

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Kansas, top 100 children's books

 

One response to “Wizard of Oz: The Movie (Pt. 2)

  1. Tif

    February 3, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    As I was reading your quotes, I actually could hear the original voices in my head! I really need to re-watch this one again soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
