RSS

Wizard of Oz: The Movie (Part 1)

26 Jan

The Wizard of Oz film edition is, for its time, a masterpiece.  With Judy Garland the centerpiece and Technicolor the thrilling addition to the film world, it stands out among musicals, in my opinion.  The film received many Academy award nods, including Best Original Song for “Over the Rainbow.”  While I wouldn’t call you crazy if you didn’t like the film, I will say that the majority of viewers should appreciate its theatrical beauty.

Unfortunately, there are many discrepancies between the original novel published in 1900 and the 1939 film adaptation.  Here are a few for your trivia knowledge:

  • Dorothy’s silver shoes are changed to ruby-colored slippers for the film
  • The Emerald City-seeking crew encounter a few dangerous situations in the novel, including the Hammerheads and China Country
  • Citizens of the Emerald City are not required to wear tinted goggles in the film version, taking away the manipulating character of the Wizard of Oz
  • Dorothy’s travels are an actual occurrence in the novel, not just the dream that the film adaptation makes it out to be
  • Dorothy’s travel companions are not, in fact, the farmhands re-incarnated into her dream, but actual beings

These are just a few examples of minor changes from the novel to the film.  Normally, these are the kinds of things that yank my chain and get me riled up.  For some reason, this is not the case with The Wizard of Oz.  Maybe it’s my attachment to the musical aspect of it. Regardless, the novel has still been touted as a children’s literature classic and the film a theatrical classic in all its glory.

To be honest, I do prefer the film version.  I like the fact that Dorothy is made out to be the protector of the traveling group, that she holds power in her tiny, innocent hands.  And she sings!  Check out the blog tomorrow for a little more commentary on the songs and dancing in the film.

Previous posts for WIZARD OF OZ WEEK:

The Literary Wife and the Wizard of Oz

#40 The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

3 responses to “Wizard of Oz: The Movie (Part 1)

  1. Tiffany

    January 26, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I’m enjoying these posts. I’ve always considered The Wizard of Oz my favorite movie🙂 I collected music boxes & other Wizard of OZ ‘things’ while I was growing up. My parents occasionally still give me Oz things for Christmas…I got a limited edition Pez dispenser set – each character – for Christmas this year🙂

     
  2. Tif

    February 3, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Love Wizard of Oz!! I only read the original book a few years ago and think it is time to read it again! The witch wasn’t green in the original either, right?!?

    One of my all-time favorite books is actually Wicked. It takes details from both the book and the movie and adds some details of its own. The musical is a bit different (much more family friendly), but I love them both.

    And, LOVE the musical aspect!! Now, I’m off to read that post since I’m reading this one late!! 🙂

     
  3. Aisha

    April 2, 2011 at 6:02 am

    I love this film i kept on borrwing it from the libary it’s a good children film over7 but it’s the best best film in the world what do u think?

     

Leave a Reply

 
