RSS

#42 Little House on the Prairie

21 Jan

For #42 on our top 100 children’s books list, I decided to do the audiobook version, because I have read this novel many times in my life.  I am definitely not one to listen to an audiobook very often, so it was kind of a new experience for me.  I listened while driving, while making greeting cards, while doing chores, and surprisingly, it took quite some time to finish it.  I wouldn’t say that I necessarily loved listening to the audiobook, but that comes mostly from the fact that I am a horrible listener.  However, the narrator, Cherry Jones, did a fantastic job reading this book.  She even sang the songs that are written in the book as Pa or Ma singing! She used the perfect country accent, but was also very easy to understand. The inflections in her voice were perfectly fit to the stories, whether there be a prairie fire being put out, or a house being built.

To be honest, I really don’t enjoy Little House on the Prairie as much as I probably should, considering it does take place in my home state.  Don’t get me wrong, the stories and the relationships that develop in this novel are beautifully genuine, but for some reason, I just don’t connect as well with this novel as I do with the others.  But don’t you worry, Laura Ingalls Wilder fans, my favorite of the series, Little House in the Big Woods, is coming up soon on our top 100 list.

Little House on the Prairie

by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Originally published in 1935

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#42 Little House on the Prairie

  1. Kari

    January 21, 2011 at 10:19 am

    I don’t like this one as much as some of the others, either.

     

Leave a Reply

 
