RSS

Top 10 Bookish Resolutions

11 Jan

Top Ten Tuesday is a great meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this is the first time that I have participated.  Each week, book bloggers contribute their lists to the blogging world, the topic being chosen by The Broke and the Bookish members.  This week, we discuss our bookish resolutions.

  1. I resolve to finish my Top 100 Children’s Books challenge by June 1st.  Pretty self-explanatory for those that have been following my blog for more than a week.  For those that don’t know, check out this post.
  2. I resolve to read 125 books in the year 2011.  Also self-explanatory.
  3. I resolve to buy more books. This is probably the opposite of most book bloggers out there, as I have seen numerous times posts in which bloggers put themselves on a “buying ban” for a certain amount of time.  Honestly, I’m not really a book-buyer.  I’m not anywhere near a Borders or Barnes & Noble and my city does not have an independent bookstore that sells new books.  And I am still working on the full-time job thing.  However, my dad always says that “Excuses are like anuses.  Everyone has one and they all stink.”  So, no more excuses.  I will become a book-buyer in the year 2011.
  4. I resolve to read more cookbooks.  More on this one later.
  5. I resolve to read books for fun, not review. Again, more on this later.  Lots of changes to come on the blog soon.
  6. I resolve to finish the challenges that I have already committed to. Namely, the Contemps challenge, the 2011 Debut Author challenge, and the Canadian Reading challenge.  This is kind of a given, but I wanted to mention it anyway.
  7. I resolve to spend more time reading on campus. I am not a student at KSU anymore, but I certainly do think the campus is beautiful and there are a lot of great places to spend reading.  This might be our last year in this city, so I want to use my time here wisely.
  8. I resolve to read my husband’s top 5 books in his reading challenge. These books would be Of Human Bondage, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, 1984, The Sun Also Rises, and The Great Gatsby.
  9. I resolve to read 10 of Amanda’s top 15 books of 2010. Even though I don’t normally read adult books, I want to start doing so, and what a better person’s recommendations to start with?  Amanda is a blogger and person that I respect very much and I think she writes brilliant, thoughtful reviews.
  10. I resolve to recommend more books to people. I find myself hesitant to tell people about books that I am reading or recommend any that they might enjoy, and that is just a sad, sad day as a book blogger.  I want to focus more on spreading the book love to my IRL friends and community.

So, there you have it, my hopes for this year.  What are your bookish resolutions?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in top 10 tuesday

 

7 responses to “Top 10 Bookish Resolutions

  1. Amanda

    January 11, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I should resolve to read the three books on your husband’s list that I haven’t read yet!

    I’m actually trying not to buy anything this year. Our family is a five person family living on a single income, and while that income doesn’t put us under the poverty line, it certainly does restrict us to a certain degree and I’ve made the mistake of buying a ton of books that in the end, I ended up abandoning partway through. I hate that! I hate that I wasted all that money. I want to save buying books for books I already know I love and want to have copies of on my shelf. I don’t keep very many books, probably because after traveling around to some third world countries, keeping a bunch of “stuff” makes me uncomfortable. I don’t know. I’m all conflicted in that area…I go back and forth on what I like!

     
  2. Risa

    January 11, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Your father’s comment on excuses is very interestng. It made me sit up and take note!:D

    Your resolutions are varied – nice! The only time I ever pick up a cookery book is if I’ve had enough of the same old, same old, and want something different!

     
  3. Misha

    January 11, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Great resolutions! Best of luck with your goals!
    I like the Top 5 books in your husband’s reading challenge especially The Great Gatsby.

     
  4. Ginger @ GReads!

    January 11, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Great list! I think you’re brave for taking on more than one challenge. I couldn’t do it. I signed up for the Contemps challenge late last year & decided to stick with that one through 2011. However – I did challenge myself to read 100 books per goodreads🙂

     
  5. Jen

    January 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    I’ve had The Sun Also Rises and The Great Gatsby on my to-read forever it seems like!

    Good luck with all of your reading challenges!

    Jen at The Broke and the Bookish

     
  6. 1girl2manybooks

    January 11, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Great resolutions! Some of the books I aim to read this year are my fiance’s favourites. We love to discuss books we’ve both read.

    Good luck.

     

Leave a Reply

 
