RSS

5 Great Re-Reads

24 Dec

Adele at Persnickety Snark is hosting the FIVE challenge for this end-of-the-year wrapping up of book love.  I am only participating in a few of the daily posts, and this happens to be one that I am very excited for.  As you should know as a reader of The Literary Wife, I have been reading through the top 100 children’s books, from #100 to #1.  In that, of course, there have been many books that I have read previously.  Here are the top 5 and why I enjoyed the re-read this year:

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

by J.K. Rowling

This book, I believe, is becoming my favorite out of the series. I really enjoy the Tri-Wizard tournament and the new relationships that it brings to the storyline.  I do miss the Quidditch playing, but the action from the tournament makes up for it.

Walk Two Moons

by Sharon Creech

I mentioned earlier on the blog about my experience re-reading the book this year, but I will emphasize it again.  With deep novels such as this one, it is always worth re-reading in order to pick out all the life lessons from the story itself. With such dynamic characters as Sal and her grandparents, there is much to be offered from this novel.

Ramona Quimby, Age 8

by Beverly Cleary

I could read this book once a year and never grow tired of it.  Though somewhat dated, the themes still apply today and Beverly Cleary gets you perfectly into the mind and heart of an 8-year-old.  Ramona is a classic character who deserves to be appreciated for many more years to come (though I would prefer it to not be in film format ever again)

Sideways Stories from Wayside School

by Louis Sachar

Reading this book with your goofball husband is way better than reading it just with your serious self.  Check out more thoughts on my re-read of this book here.

Redeeming Love

by Francine Rivers

The first time I read this book, it changed my life in ways I didn’t think possible.  The care that Francine Rivers took with this novel, delving deep into the human heart, as well as the heart of God, make it a profound novel that should be read by anyone struggling with their understanding of who God is.  I try to read this book at least once a year, and every time, I am left amazed.

So, those are my outstanding re-reads of the year 2010.  Any that you care to mention for yourself?

 

Leave a Reply

 
