RSS

#50 Island of the Blue Dolphins

21 Dec

We are officially halfway there, halfway through the Top 100 Children’s Books list!  Why do I say “we”?  I could not have made it this far without you, my readers and supporters.  There were definitely times I have been bored and wondered why in the world I took on such a task, but it has been worth it so far and I hope that you will stick with me until the end.

Now, on to the book!  What a wonderful novel to mark the middle of my reading challenge.  Island of the Blue Dolphins takes us into the world of a Native American tribe living off the coast of what is now California, and specifically, into the adventures of a young girl mistakenly left behind when the tribe leaves for better land.  Karana is forced to make friends with the native animals and learn how to take care of herself on her own.  While it is hard to miss the fact that she is brave, caring and thoughtful, her quiet character is never overwhelming or a dominating aspect of the book.  After finishing the novel, I had to sit for a few minutes just to take in all that had happened, considering who Karana had become, and what the land and sea meant to her.  It is not a surprise that this novel was the recipient of the Newbery award in 1961, and has continued to be considered a classic in children’s literature.

Island of the Blue Dolphins

by Scott O’Dell

Originally published in 1960

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 21, 2010 in top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#50 Island of the Blue Dolphins

  1. Melissa

    December 21, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I vaguely remember reading this for school when I was younger, but I can’t believe I haven’t read it since! I’m definitely going to have to revisit it now! I loved your thoughts on it🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
