RSS

Book Review: The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove

10 Dec

Bezellia Grove lives a life of prosperity.  Belonging to a prominent family said to have been living in Nashville since it’s beginning, there are certain expectations of her.  The 1960s and 70s deem to be rather difficult, as the country around her changes, as she changes, and as her family changes right before her eyes.  She must learn to accept that people are weak, love is real, and life will never be easy.

Bezellia’s story is one of the best I have read in a long time.  The emotions and situations felt so real sometimes it felt like I was reading a memoir.  The language and prose of the author made the book flow seamlessly. From the start to the finish, I felt as if I couldn’t put the book down because all of Bezellia’s and her family’s experiences moved naturally from one to the next.

Even though I may have been frustrated with some of the decisions that she made and the situations she got herself in, I still rooted for her the entire time, as she is real, honest and introspective enough for me to understand her well.  She blooms before your eyes, but the changes are still subtle, as the book spans basically from her birth to her death.  This novel is, literally, about the improper and unpredictable life of a young woman, born into privilege in the South.

Rather than continuing to gush and rave about this novel, I will present the book with the Diamond Ring Award.  As explained here, I do not give books ratings, but when I find one that just leaves me standing in awe, I award it with the Diamond Ring Award.  Congratulations, Susan Gregg Gilmore.

The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove

by Susan Gregg Gilmore

Published by Shaye Areheart Books, an imprint of Crown

August 2010

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2010 in Book Review, Crown, Historical fiction, YA Books

 

2 responses to “Book Review: The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove

  1. Susan Gregg Gilmore

    December 10, 2010 at 9:58 am

    WOW. I am so excited to receive the Diamond Ring Award!!! By any chance, does the honor comes with a ring??

     
    • literarywife

      December 10, 2010 at 10:10 am

      Oh, what a great idea! If only I could do that for fabulous authors such as yourself . . . Thanks for stopping by, Susan!

       

Leave a Reply

 
