RSS

#56 Number the Stars

08 Dec

Number the Stars takes place during the Holocaust and tells the story of two young Danish friends, one Jewish and one not, but both of their families brave beyond measure.  A short read, the novel does not drag on into horrendous details of their lives, but touches enough on their emotions for the reader to understand what the girls and their families went through during the Holocaust. When it comes to historical fiction that addresses such a difficult subject as this, I hesitate to even comment on the book itself.  I mean, we all know that Lois Lowry is an incredible author.  Need I say more?

I will, however, make a few positive comments.  For a pre-teen reading this book, I feel as if they would find it very easy to connect with the young protagonist, even though she lived in a completely different time and went through an experience that most Americans could not fathom experiencing.  The author does not go into so much depth and detail as to bog down the reader, but does bring up issues that the reader can discuss with parents, teachers or other mentors.  Books such as these are vital to young readers in knowing about the world’s history.

Number the Stars

by Lois Lowry

Originally published in 1989

 

4 responses to “#56 Number the Stars

  1. Melanie

    December 8, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I love this book, but then again, I love all things Lois Lowry.

     
  2. Kari

    December 8, 2010 at 11:14 am

    One thing I really like about this one is that, when I went to the Holocaust Museum in DC and saw the story about what happened in Denmark during that time, I had some context because I had read Number the Stars. I think it would be a great book to actually study with students and to take a different angle on the Holocaust.

     
    • literarywife

      December 8, 2010 at 11:32 am

      Lois Lowry takes such care with her books, I bet she did a lot of research for Number the Stars, making it real and a valid choice for studying and educating your students with.

       
  3. Dallas

    December 11, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    I read this book a long time ago, it was amazing! I should reread it!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
