RSS

#58 The Wolves of Willoughby Chase

06 Dec

Correct me if I’m wrong, my readers, but I believe this is the first gothic novel that we have come across on the Top 100 Children’s Books list, working our way from #100 to #1, of course.  If you are not familiar with this children’s novel, let me fill you in.  The story begins with the introduction of young Bonnie and her cousin Sylvia, who are staying at Willoughby Chase under the care of an evil governess who is out to gain Bonnie’s father’s fortune.  The two girls, after realizing their dreadful fate, scheme to escape and find Bonnie’s parents, or at least safety away from Miss Slighcarp.  Without revealing too many spoilers, I do need to emphasize the unexpected success the girls find in their adventures, which is what makes it a wonderful children’s novel, in my opinion.  Though it does not fall in my favorite genres in particular, I still found myself racing through the novel, wanting to seek adventure alongside Bonnie and Sylvia.

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase

by Joan Aiken

Originally published in 1962

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 6, 2010 in Mystery, top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#58 The Wolves of Willoughby Chase

  1. Amy Hervey

    December 6, 2010 at 10:20 am

    This book is on my list of “to buy.” Thanks for the synopsis!

     

Leave a Reply

 
