RSS

#59 Inkheart

03 Dec

Inkheart is said to be a book for book lovers.  Inkheart is filled with action, mystery and great quotes from classic books.  Inkheart has at least two well-constructed protagonists.  Sadly, Inkheart was not the book for me.  I know that there is a reason why it makes an appearance on the Top 100 Children’s Books list, but it would not have been one of my top picks.  Unfortunately, I think part of this has to do with the circumstances surrounding my reading time.  When I began the book, I was in the last days of my job and in the midst of planning a trip to Chicago for my husband and parents.  Reading was put on hold for said trip and I never like my reading to be interrupted for a long period of time.  Before starting Inkheart, I had just finished reading a bunch of shorter reads from my Top 100 list, so the 534 pages that it contains was a bit daunting from the beginning.  Moral of the story?  Do not let your circumstances affect your judgment of a book.

Have I heard positive feedback about this novel?  Most definitely.  Would I encourage you, my readers, to give it a try?  Most definitely.  Will I read it again sometime?  Most definitely.

Inkheart

by Cornelia Funke

(Translated from the German by Anthea Bell)

Originally published in 2003

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2010 in Mystery, top 100 children's books

 

4 responses to “#59 Inkheart

  1. Tif

    December 4, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    I really liked this one! In fact, I hope to re-read it again in the near future before diving into the sequels!

     
    • Tiffany

      December 5, 2010 at 7:48 am

      Aaron & I both read this one about a year ago – I liked it & have the next book in the series, but just haven’t pumped myself up to read it yet🙂

       
      • literarywife

        December 5, 2010 at 9:24 am

        I’m so glad to be getting positive comments about Inkheart!

         
  2. sharon

    December 5, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Try it on audio. Lynn Redgrave was excellent.

     

Leave a Reply

 
