RSS

My Reading Challenge Progress

01 Dec

Back in May, I announced that I was going to read and blog through the Top 100 Children’s Books, as compiled and published by Betsy Bird at A Fuse #8 Production.  As my challenge officially started June 1st, today marks the halfway mark, or the six-month mark.  Ideally, I wanted to be at least to book #50 by now, but unfortunately, I’m just a tad behind.  Not to fear, my readers, I have every intention of working hard to catch up and finish with #1 by June 1st, 2011.  I wanted to offer you a bit of insight into my experience so far in reading and writing about these books.  I feel as if I am gaining a wealth of knowledge about the world of children’s books and what makes them good and memorable.  I have not been reading these books like I read review books; I have been reading them purely with enjoyment in mind.  With that being said, I have still been able to pick up on literary characteristics that seem to be appearing in a lot of these novels.  Since they do vary and I do not consider myself an expert on children’s literature, I am choosing not to share them with you, but maybe my thoughts will come up later.  When the challenge is over, I know that I will be better equipped to judge and review new children’s literature, using these 100 novels as a measuring stick.  Thanks for following me through this challenge and I hope you will stick with me the rest of the way.  Find below the listing of each book that I have read thus far, with a link to my thoughts on the book.

#100 The Egypt Game

#99 The Indian in the Cupboard

#98 Children of Green Knowe

#97 The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

#96 The Witches

#95 Pippi Longstocking

#94 Swallows and Amazons

#93 Caddie Woodlawn

#92 Ella Enchanted

#91 Sideways Stories from Wayside School

#90 Sarah, Plain and Tall

#89 Ramona and Her Father

#88 The High King

#87 The View from Saturday

#86 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

#85 On the Banks of Plum Creek

#84 The Little White Horse

#83 The Thief

#82 The Book of Three

#81 Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

#80 The Graveyard Book

#79 All-of-a-Kind Family

#78 Johnny Tremain

#77 The City of Ember

#76 Out of the Dust

#75 Love That Dog

#74 The Borrowers

#73 My Side of the Mountain

#72 My Father’s Dragon

#71 The Bad Beginning

#70 Betsy-Tacy

#69 The Mysterious Benedict Society

#68 Walk Two Moons

#67 Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher

#66 Henry Huggins

#65 Ballet Shoes

#64 A Long Way from Chicago

#63 Gone-Away Lake

#62 The Secret of the Old Clock

#61 Stargirl

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 1, 2010 in top 100 children's books

 

Leave a Reply

 
