RSS

#68 Walk Two Moons

08 Nov

When I reached Walk Two Moons on the list, I hesitated to read it because I just read it at the beginning of this year and I read it when I was in middle school.  I debated back and forth as to whether I had time to read it again right now.  Boy, am I glad that I did.  To be honest, I am not one to re-read books, especially more than twice (except for Charlotte’s Web).  That might be changing after reading Walk Two Moons for the third time.

First, let me fill you in on why the novel is wonderful.  Main character Salamanca is on a cross-country trip with her grandparents, during which she tells them a story about a friend she made in her new town, and what happened with her friend’s family.  Her grandparents are so endearing, you can’t help but love them from the start.  As the book goes on, the reader gets a better idea of Salamanca’s sorrow and experiences through the stories she tells about her friend (the whole point of the novel).

Through my re-reading of this novel, the characters came even more alive.  Sal’s grandparents marriage became more beautiful than I remembered it to be.  Sal’s story became more sorrowful, yet hopeful.  Her father’s intense emotions were highlighted even more.  I noticed more of the foreshadowing effects that Sharon Creech used.  I loved this novel much more than I thought I could.

Moral of the story learned at The Literary Wife today:  Re-read novels!

Walk Two Moons

by Sharon Creech

Originally published in 1994

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in top 100 children's books

 

Leave a Reply

 
