RSS

#70 Betsy-Tacy

04 Nov

A few of the books (at least three that I can remember) on the Top 100 Children’s Books List are mentioned in my favorite movie of all time, You’ve Got Mail, starring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks.  Betsy-Tacy, by Maud Hart Lovelace, is one of them.  Why is it mentioned in that movie?  And why should you care?

  1. You’ve Got Mail is a beautiful movie about supporting local business, loving art and beauty around you, and the endless fate of love.
  2. Kathleen Kelly (played by Meg Ryan) is a wonderful character, small business owner, and lover of children’s books.
  3. Betsy-Tacy is one of the cutest, most endearing novels for young girls that I have ever read.
  4. Kathleen Kelly recommends Betsy-Tacy to one of her customers.

Enough said, my friends.  If you have or know a young girl from the ages of five to ten, put this book in her hands or read it to her.  And then watch You’ve Got Mail.  Because both actions will make you happy.  Or at least make me happy.

Betsy-Tacy

by Maud Hart Lovelace

Originally published in 1940

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2010 in top 100 children's books

 

2 responses to “#70 Betsy-Tacy

  1. Carla Kozak

    November 10, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    My brother knew the You’ve Got Mail set designer. When she told him about the movie she was working on, set in a children’s book store, he gave her my contact information. I’m a children’s librarian and a huge fan of the Betsy-Tacy series. I gave Ms. Christiansen a list of titles I knew any really savvy children’s book person would have in her store, and made a special plea for the Lovelace titles. Imagine my delight when they actually were included in the script! Obviously, when Ms. Christiansen’s list was presented to the Ephron sisters, they turned out to love them too. I’ve been on the Maud-L listserv for years; I was the Heroine of the Month when the movie came out! Thanks for your endorsement of the books, and the film.

     

Leave a Reply

 
