RSS

#75 Love That Dog

24 Oct

Jack reminds me of my now Literary Husband.  Jack doesn’t want to write poetry because he thinks it’s for girls.  Jack doesn’t want his teacher, Miss Stretchberry, to share his poetry because he thinks it’s not really poetry, or any good if it is poetry.  Jack learns to not only write, but appreciate poetry.  I can see my husband being like Jack in elementary school.  I don’t know if he had a favorite teacher that helped him appreciate reading and learning.  I don’t know if he was rebellious or defiant in elementary school.  But I do know that now, he reads quite often, and I find that impressive for a twenty-something barista newly married.

I wonder how many “Jacks” there are in the world, how many young boys that grew to appreciate literature and writing because of a great teacher or mentor in their life.  I wonder where we would be without those teachers or those “Jacks” of the world.

Love That Dog is a book that, after you finish, you just breathe a sigh of relief.  Love That Dog reminds you that greatness does exist in the world, that good things come from hard work and dedication, from caring for other people and investing in their lives.

Love That Dog

by Sharon Creech

Originally published in 2001

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 24, 2010 in Married Life, top 100 children's books

 

One response to “#75 Love That Dog

  1. Beth S.

    October 24, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Love That Dog has slowly crept its way into the canon of my favorite books of all time. Not just my favorite children’s books – but my favorite books. I love reading this book to my students during poetry month because I see so many Jacks emerge and transform during that month – from beginning to end – and it is immensely satisfying.

     

Leave a Reply

 
