RSS

#78 Johnny Tremain

12 Oct

As I mentioned in my previous post on All-Of-A-Kind Family, I enjoy historical fiction, or rather, period fiction.  Nay, I love period fiction.  I am fascinated by previous eras in history, and especially when seen through the eyes of young children or teenagers.  So, you might be shocked to find that I did not enjoy Johnny Tremain, a novel about a young boy growing up in Boston at the start of the Revolutionary War.  The book is well-written and the recipient of the Newbery award.  The characters are fun and dynamic, especially the haughty Johnny.  Maybe it all boils down to the fact that I do not necessarily enjoy learning about this time in history.  Call me unpatriotic, if you will, but it just doesn’t fascinate me as much as other revolutionary times in the history of the United States.  Am I disappointed that I didn’t enjoy it?  Yes.  Will I re-read it to try and gain a new perspective?  No.  Such is the life of a reader, stuck in the mindset we are born in.

If you have read this novel and loved it, please comment! It deserves to be recognized for the piece of literature that it is.

Johnny Tremain

by Esther Forbes

Originally published in 1943

 
 

3 responses to “#78 Johnny Tremain

  1. Amy Hervey

    October 12, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    If this copy is yours, I may be borrowing it next year (if we home educate). It’s on our read list. Thanks for reading it first!

     
  2. Shelley

    October 12, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I remember trying to read this when I was the age it was intended for, and being bored to tears. I did enjoy it as an adult much more than I thought I would.

     
  3. Debi

    October 21, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I’m so glad you felt this way. Wait, that came out wrong–I actually wish you’d loved it, because I never want anyone to be disappointed in a book. But I felt much the same way, and I hated being so disappointed in a book that is a classic of childhood. Oh well, can’t win them all, right?

     

Leave a Reply

 
