RSS

#79 All-of-a-Kind Family

07 Oct

All-of-a-Kind Family is not what it seems to be from first glance.  To be honest, I was not excited to be reading this novel because I have just about had it with stories about perfect families.  Starting the book, I expected to be reading about a well-off American Christian family.  But alas! I was wrong.  The family lives on the East Side of New York City in the year 1912 and do not have many pennies to spare for pleasure and goodies for their five daughters.  The parents do have time for their daughters, which proves to be priceless, as they teach the girls lessons on sharing, working hard, giving and love.  This is just the first book in a series by Sydney Taylor, all of which I will be reading as soon as possible.  I seriously fell in love with this family, with the girls’ individual personalities, their Jewish traditions and faith, and their happiness with the little that they have.  And this book gives me the opportunity to share about my LOOOOOOVE of period fiction.

That’s it; I admit it.  I love period fiction.  Or historical fiction, I guess some might call it.  While I do enjoy books about a certain time period or event in history, I mostly love books that are set in a previous time period but are not necessarily about that point in history, and were not written during the set time period.  Namely, the All-of-a-Kind series.

Here are a few more of my favorite period fiction books:

Home of the Brave by Katherine Applegate

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Three Rivers Rising by Jame Richards

Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie-Brink

Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder

All of a Kind Family

by Sidney Taylor

Originally published in 1951

 

3 responses to “#79 All-of-a-Kind Family

  1. Ab

    October 7, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    This is one of my favorite books! Whenever I need a pick-me-up, I turn to this book. It is familiar and comforting!

     
  2. Word Lily

    October 8, 2010 at 10:00 am

    I really love this book, too. Sometime I need to get my hands on the rest of the series, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
