RSS

Banned Books Week

29 Sep

Banned Books Week is an annual event celebrated to highlight the freedoms stated in the First Amendment, particularly the freedom of speech and our open access to information in our country and the world beyond.  This year, Banned Books Week falls from September 25th to October 2nd and I wanted to provide some information for you, my readers, involving challenged books.

As most of you should know, I am involved in a year-long challenge to read the Top 100 Children’s Books.  As some of you may now know, many of these books have been banned or challenged in public libraries and school districts.  I took a glance over at the ALA website, found the top banned or challenged books, and here is what I found from my top 100 list.  Note in parentheses by the title of the book the reason why it was banned or challenged.

  • The Witches by Roald Dahl (satanic themes)
  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (supernatural themes)
  • Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (witches, sorcery, enchantment)
  • The Great Gilly Hopkins and Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson (profanity)
  • Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor (racism)
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry (violence and the portrayal of euthanasia

This list is in no way comprehensive.  I just wanted to take some time during this celebration of our freedom to choose what we read, to highlight the fact that some of these books that have been banned and/or challenged are also included in the list of the top literature available for children.  Think of this what you will, my readers.  Feel free to comment!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in top 100 children's books, Uncategorized

 

One response to “Banned Books Week

  1. Tiffany

    September 30, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Always interesting to see why books are banned! I know some people who are pretty adamant about not letting their children read some of those books…but I think they can also be great ways to open up the line of communication between parent & child!

    I love the Harry Potter series…and the Roll of Thunder was one of my favorites growing up. I think we read The Giver during one of my high school English classes. Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
