RSS

a child of the 80’s

17 Sep

As I have been reading Countdown by Deborah Wiles, I have been putting much thought into time periods.  This book, the first in a trilogy about the 60’s, follows Franny, a young girl living in 1962 and learning about the world around her and how it affects her life.  Interspersed within the book are photos, news bits and quotes from the 60’s, helping the author tell the true story of life in that time period.

While I would have loved to grow up during an earlier century in the United States, I am a child of the 80’s.  Well, technically, the 90’s, but I was born in the 80’s.  You get the picture.  And just like Franny is experiencing much change in her life, I have experienced tremendous amounts of change throughout my short lifetime.

When I began elementary school, computers had very limited capabilities and the monitor was a green screen.  Now, I can instantly send messages to anyone across the world, or speak with friends via a video tool at any time of the day.

During the summers of my elementary to middle school years, I became my father’s personal secretary, taking phone messages while he was out and about doing his job.  Now, his colleagues and employees can simply call his cell phone or, if he would give in to a SmartPhone, email him directly to his phone.  If only he could just figure out voicemail. . .

When my mom took me shopping for new school clothes, she wrote a check.  A paper check.  Imagine that?  Now when she buys my brothers new school clothes, she uses a debit card to pay.  Same function, much more convenient.

When I first began my obsession with public libraries, I would know how long I could keep the book by the due date stamped on the card in the back.  Now, as I am still obsessed with public libraries, I simply log into my online account to see when my books are due.

I know there are more children of the 80’s and 90’s out there.  What changes have you experienced?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2010 in Children's Books

 

4 responses to “a child of the 80’s

  1. Derek

    September 17, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    TV’s that aren’t 4 feet deep and weigh 200 pounds.

     
  2. Derek

    September 17, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Oh yeah, and being able to carry around hundreds of hours of music stored on a device that’s the size of my wallet that also makes phone calls, sends text messages, etc.

     
  3. Amy Hervey

    September 18, 2010 at 6:20 am

    Can you believe that I “was online” for the first time when I was in highschool? We had computers in grade school, but only for playing Oregon Trail…. Also, our email was in DOS format at Emporia State in 1996. We thought car phones were cool– phones that were in a bag that plugged into your cigarette lighter. Oh, yeah, and cars HAD cigarette lighters in them.

     
  4. literarywife

    September 18, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Oh, Amy, that’s hilarious. It doesn’t seem like you are that much older than me, but technology definitely dates you. Oregon Trail, I remember those days.

     

Leave a Reply

 
