RSS

Book Blogger Hop

02 Sep

Every week, Jenn over at Crazy for Books hosts the Book Blogger Hop, with the intention of connecting with other blogs and giving bloggers the opportunity to network with each other.  The Hop lasts from Monday to Friday and bloggers use the Mr. Linky at Crazy for Books to post up and to hop around to other blogs.

Each blogger answers a specific question each week and the chosen question this week is:

Do you judge a book by its cover?

I am not ashamed to admit that I do judge books by their cover.  I remember when I worked at the library and so often, the cover of a book passing through the circulation desk would catch my eye and I would put it on my list or take a few minutes and sit down and see what it was about.  To this day, I do the same thing.  I find it interesting to know that most authors do not have a say in what their cover looks like.  I can’t imagine how frustrating this must be as a cover can very well stunt the sale of a book and the interest developed in a certain title.

Thanks for your support, my faithful readers, and thanks to newcomers for taking the time to hop by!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2010 in Children's Books

 

8 responses to “Book Blogger Hop

  1. thebookishsnob

    September 3, 2010 at 2:27 am

    Hi🙂 You know I didn’t know that. I’ve always thought authors designed the covers or at least gave direction to what it looked like. I agree, how frustrating. Hope you enjoy your weekend!!
    Hope you Hop by my site

     
  2. Badass Bookie

    September 3, 2010 at 5:28 am

    Hi there!

    Just hopping over via hop! I love your blog design it’s so pretty! I’m sure to stop over some other time! Have a great weekend and happy reading!

    Til next time,
    Lisa (Badass Bookie) xx
    http://badassbookie.blogspot.com/

     
  3. pussreboots

    September 3, 2010 at 3:46 pm

     
  4. Alison

    September 3, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Hopping through. I remember Stephenie Meyer saying she didn’t like the cover for New Moon (I think it was that one). It’s interesting that the Twilight covers are much more subdued than many other YA books. I wonder why that is.
    My Hop

     
  5. 1girl2manybooks

    September 3, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Hi, just stopping by from the Hop! Have a great weekend!

     
  6. Lacey

    September 4, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Stopping in from the hop! Hope you are having a great weekend! I’m an author, and I have worked with both kinds of publishing houses. I much prefer to have a little bit of creative control over my book versus no say at all.
    Smiles!
    http://thedelusionaldiaries.blogspot.com

     
  7. Elizabeth

    September 6, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    First-time visitor…love your header…simply lovely.

    I do pick up a book because of its cover…not necessarily buy it, but it does make me pick it up and check it out.

    Hopping by.

    Stop by my blog if you like:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

     
  8. Lora1967

    September 12, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I know im late with this. Just wanted to stop by and say hi. this is my first hop. Great site! This is so much fun. I will participate more. Come visit me at http://readforyourfuture.blogspot.com/
    Thanks
    Lora

     

Leave a Reply

 
