RSS

The Literary Husband’s Reading Challenge

27 Aug

Yes, you read that correctly, my friends.  My husband has embarked on a reading challenge of his own.  Probably more inspired by his reading friends than his reading wife, he has started on a list of the top 100 novels of the 20th century.  I’m honestly not sure where the original list began, but he did do a bit of tweaking to include a more diverse author line-up, as well as a few children’s books.  He is reading through the list a little differently than myself, as my husband does march to the beat of his own drum.  I’m not even going to try and explain how he is dividing his list, just trust me, it’s different.

Anyway, I wanted to pass along a little bit of his reading experience from the last few months, all via his Twitter tweets.  Enjoy!

Main character in “On The Road” just passed through Flagstaff and the Arizona mountains. Like us!! Wicki-wicki-WHAT!?!?

Just read Charlotte’s Web for the first time. My heart = broken.

Thus far in my 1900’s novels, “It” and “Haunting of Hill House” have been the only horror stories, but had the best character development.

Just finished Lovecraft’s “At the Mountains of Madness”. There may have been a total of 10 words that had less than 3 syllables.

Finished Call Of The Wild. It’s basically my biography if it was toned down a little.

I may be biased due to my degree in psychology, but One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest is one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Just finished The Great Gatsby. I pretty much wrote the same thing in 5th grade, so F. Scott needs to back up off.

Just finished Blood Meridian. Now onto The Satanic Verses. #upliftingbooks

Sorry, ladies, I know you want him, but he’s already taken.  If you don’t believe me, here’s the proof.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2010 in Married Life

 

4 responses to “The Literary Husband’s Reading Challenge

  1. Amanda

    August 27, 2010 at 7:38 am

    That’s awesome! I wish my husband loved to read, but really I think he only does it to shut me up! When we first met and began dating at 15 and 16, I made him read all the Harry Potter books (which he loved), but then it’s been very sporadic reading over the years. He is 1/3 of the way through the Hunger Games, but only reads like 5 pages a night. That boy has willpower!

     
  2. Amy Hervey

    August 27, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Well I heard those wedding rings were photo-shopped in. (This comment not to be confused with me wanting your husband. After all, I married the Original Steve.)🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
