RSS

#88 the high king

17 Aug

Okay, I admit it.  I didn’t finish this book.  Actually, I didn’t get past page 40, mostly because by page 2 there were already 6 characters introduced and I had no idea what was going on by the time I got to the third chapter.  Not to mention that the characters had names like Eilonwy and Gwydion.  And Fflewddur, seriously?  So, unfortunately, I had to put the book down and move on.  And I see that I’m not the only one having this experience.

Let me offer a bit of explanation, though.  I am fully aware that The High King is the fifth (and final) book in the Chronicles of Prydain.  However, in the author’s note and a few places online, it is stated that you can, in fact, read all the books separately.  This is just unfortunately not true.  Luckily, the first book in the series, The Book of Three, is not too far down my list, so I shall take the time to read it and hopefully will return to The High King shortly after.

The High King

by Lloyd Alexander

Originally published in 1968

 

3 responses to “#88 the high king

Leave a Reply

 
