RSS

oh, canada!

06 Jul

This weekend, much to my delight, I discovered that the Canadian Book Challenge (4th edition) had begun on June 1st.  I love Canada.  I spent 2 summers in New Brunswick and Quebec and fell in love with the country and its wonderful people.  Taking walks along the bridge crossing the St. John River became a favorite happening for me and my friends.  Eating Tim Horton’s donuts and passing up poutine became my fond food memories.  So, thanks to the referral from Chris, I have officially been entered in the book challenge and have already started my list (eventually, I will have to read 13 before June 1, 2011):

  • The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood
  • Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery (cross-referenced in my top 100 challenge)
  • Shoeless Joe by W.P. Kinsella

Any other recommendations?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2010 in Children's Books

 

9 responses to “oh, canada!

  1. John Mutford

    July 7, 2010 at 12:42 am

    So glad to have you with us this time around. If I could make a recommendation, how about Allistair Macleod’s No Great Mischief. Or, if you’re feeling more adventurous, Jeff Lemire’s Essex County (it’s a graphic novel).

     
  2. Sam@I Tell Stories

    April 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I wish I had come across reading blogs sooner. I will post about the Canadian Reading Challenge on my blog.

    I am Canadian and support my fellow writers!

     
  3. Sam@I Tell Stories

    April 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    How are you coming along on this challenge? I can make some more recommendations if you like🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
