RSS

#95 pippi longstocking

03 Jul

Pippi Longstocking.  What a character.  How does a person give justice to author Astrid Lindgren for creating such a brilliant character?  Alas, I will not even try.  Instead, let me tell you about the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award that was created, obviously, in her honor.  Established by the Swedish government in 2002, the award was created to increase interest in children’s literature.  Since it’s establishment, authors such as Maurice Sendak, Philip Pullman and Katherine Paterson have been the recipients of the award.  It is considered to be the award with the largest monetary prize and is funded and administered by the Swedish Arts Council.

Pippi Longstocking

by Astrid Lindgren

Originally published in English in 1950

Translated into more than 50 languages


 

3 responses to “#95 pippi longstocking

  1. Susan

    July 5, 2010 at 7:21 am

    I love this cover! Have you seen the 1988 movie? It was pretty true to the spirit of the book I think: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093744/

    I am currently on The Indian in the Cupboard, another reread and a real struggle for me, I’ll give details when I post about it.

     
  2. marisd

    July 5, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I loved the original movie…I’m going to have to read the book!

     

Leave a Reply

 
