RSS

#96 the witches

23 Jun

Confession #1:  I am a Roald Dahl fanatic.

Confession #2:  I had not read The Witches until starting this challenge.

Confession #3:  The Witches legitimately frightened me.

The main character in this novel is a young boy whose grandmother tells him stories about real-life witches that have no hair and square feet with no toes.  The worst witch of all is the Grand High Witch, who the young boy eventually meets through circumstances of happenstance.  Creative?  Most definitely.  Scary?  Most definitely.  So, it would be perfect timing that I would stumble upon a short quiz titled Roald Dahl Story or Horror Film?  This doesn’t necessarily apply to most readers favorites Matilda and Charlie, but it is definitely worth checking out.

And a word to the wise:  If the book frightens you, stay far away from the movie.

The Witches

by Roald Dahl

Illustrated by Quentin Blake

Originally published in 1983

 

3 responses to “#96 the witches

  1. melissa T

    June 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    A birthday gift of a boxed set of the early Dahl books when I was six turned me into a fan for life. The Witches is so fantastically deliciously scary and I’m so very glad that I was older when the movie came out – would have sent me hiding behind the couch for sure.

    I’ve been considering attempting a 100 books challenge of my own. You might have given me the kick start I needed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
