RSS

an ever-growing stack

16 Jun

For my fellow book bloggers out there, you know what it’s like to see your TBR pile (or shelf) continue to grow and expand to frightening proportions.  For my fellow wives out there, you know what it’s like to see your to-do list (groceries, meal planning, cleaning, time with family, date nights) continue to grow and expand to overwhelming proportions.  Tonight, these two piles are coming head-to-head in a showdown of sorts.  And you get to be my witnesses.

Now, I have to preface this conversation by saying that my husband is not a neanderthal incapable of cooking his own food and cleaning up after himself.  He is currently spending ten hours a week in class and 35+ hours a week working, so it is of my own volition that I tackle cleaning, cooking and keeping ourselves generally organized.  He knows that his time will soon come to be able to assist more on these tasks.  Here are just a few “housekeeping” tasks ahead of me tonight:

  • Follow the #bblog conversation on Twitter while waiting for the Drano to do its magic in our bathroom sink
  • Plan out meals for the next 3-4 days (vegetarian meals!)
  • Make grocery list for said meals
  • Scour the bathroom after aforementioned Drano works its magic
  • Wash all dirty dishes to elude the fear of looking in my kitchen

We shall see how many items get crossed off this list.  Now on to the books!  Below, you will see the books I am currently reading.

Connecting by Larry Crabb I have heard great things about this author/speaker/psychologist and am reading it in hopes of deepening my relationships with people and learning to love well.

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo  The next book (#97) on my way from #100 to #1 of the Top Children’s Books

An American Childhood by Annie Dillard I recently “joined” a book club and we will be meeting next Thursday to discuss this 1987 autobiography

The Wright 3 by Blue Balliett  You might recall from a few weeks ago, that this book was in my TBR pile for the 48-Hour Book Challenge, but I am just now getting to it!

The Wednesday Letters by Jason F. Wright Recommended by a fellow blogger and real-life friend

Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters by Lesley M.M. Blume Had the pleasure of reading The Rising Star of Rusty Nail by the same author, which was nominated for Kansas’ own book award, so I am excited to try out another one of hers

What’s on everyone else’s TBR pile or to-do list?  I know I’m not alone!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 16, 2010 in Children's Books, Food, Manhattan

 

One response to “an ever-growing stack

  1. Tiffany

    June 17, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Oh, my to-do list…where to begin🙂 At the top of it is: fold upteen loads of laundry, bookkeeping for sis-in-law’s business, go through kid toys (throw-out, donate, etc), weed neglected garden🙂

    My TBR pile is almost 2 feet high on my nightstand🙂 I’m currently reading, “The Frazzled Female” by Cindi Wood (this is supposed to help me tackle my to-do list, lol), Hiding in the Shadows, by Kay Hooper, Ominvore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollen & So Long Insecurity, by Beth Moore.

    I used to be a highly organized person & it came quite easily to me…but I’m finding that with each kid we add to our family, it becomes more & more difficult to juggle it all…even though I am at home most of the day!!! Ok…back to that to-do list…enough blog reading🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
