RSS

48-hour book challenge wrap-up

06 Jun

The time here in Kansas is a little past noon and I have officially finished my 48-hour Book Challenge.  Here are my final stats:

Time reading:  19.75 hours

Time socializing:  3 + hours

Total time : 22 + hours!

Books finished:  5

Pages read:  1267

Cups of coffee drank:  4

My original goal was 35 hours, but I didn’t get even close.  My friend’s wedding last night took up a little more time than I expected and I just had trouble staying awake a lot of the time.  Nonetheless,  I am very proud of my time and my accomplishments this weekend.

Short synopsis of each book that I finished during this time:

The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks: Imaginative story I could see 4th-6th grade boys enjoying.  #99 on the Top 100 Children’s Books list.  Looking forward to watching the movie today.

Numbers by Rachel Ward:  Psychological thriller involving a teenage girl that sees death dates in people’s eyes.  Great plotline but the language and the flow left much to be desired.  My husband apologized numerous times for choosing this one from my stack  : )

The Children of Green Knowe by L.M. Boston: Potentially a great read-aloud for younger children, this is the first book in the Green Knowe Chronicles and #98 on the Top 100 Children’s Books list.  Really enjoyed the stories interspersed within the story.

Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman:  Also a psychological thriller, this novel definitely kept me entertained and thinking.  Will have to re-read in a few weeks to really soak in everything the author was trying to get across.  In it, the main character has the power to keep people from death and things get a little crazy when he meets a beautiful girl that wants to tap in the power for all it’s worth.

Every Little Thing in the World by Nina de Gramont: A nice reprieve from my thriller and fantasy books, this novel follows a sixteen-year-old girl a few months along in her pregnancy as she goes canoeing with a camp for the summer and is forced to make a decision about her child’s future existence.  Not gonna lie, folks, the ending made me want to throw the book across the room.  The selfishness disgusted me.  I will say, however, it was very well-written.

So, that’s the end.  But stay tuned here at The Literary Wife or follow me on Twitter to track my progress of reading and blogging through the Top 100 Children’s Books list as published by A Fuse #8 Production.

 

3 responses to “48-hour book challenge wrap-up

  1. Mystee

    June 6, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Only 4 cups of coffee…..wow….I think i lived on it🙂 Sounds like you read some great books

     
  2. MotherReader

    June 6, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Great job! Thanks for playing!

     
  3. Tiffany

    June 6, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Good job Amber! I’d say you did pretty well🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
