RSS

book #100 the egypt game

03 Jun

Yesterday before work, I sat down with my cup of tea and my library copy of “The Egypt Game” and read the first chapter. Let me tell you, I couldn’t wait for my work day to finish so I could continue reading. Zilpha Keatley Snyder has this way of describing people, places and interactions that gets your imagination running and puts your mind right in the story.  So many times I was awestruck at how I could completely visualize the characters and what they were up to.  Here are a few other aspects of the novel that I appreciated:

  • The ethnic diversity of the characters
  • The maturity and lack thereof that the young ones possessed
  • How the kids visited the library to research more about Egypt
  • How much the kids appreciated Egyptian culture

Now, I will address the last point individually.  I must take this time to confess that I am a geography nerd.  I hold a bachelor of arts degree  in geography and am very proud of that accomplishment.  Many might think that geography is simply the study of landforms and capitals, but that, my friends, is so far from the truth.  Geography is the study of space and place, so the fact that the young characters in this novel spent so much time learning about and being a part of the Egyptian culture, just tugs on my heart strings.  Children should be spending more time learning about cultures other than their own and growing in their appreciation of those same cultures.

One book down, ninety nine to go.  The Indian in the Cupboard is up next!

The Egypt Game

Zilpha Keatley Snyder

Originally published by Atheneum in 1967

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2010 in Book Review, Children's Books

 

3 responses to “book #100 the egypt game

  1. Nicole

    June 6, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I was reading your blog for the 48 hour challenge and was delighted to discover that you’re reading the top 100 list. I was surprised by the number of books on that list that I haven’t read yet and brought several home to read over the summer (or add to my pile). The Egypt Game happens to be on a competition book list for next year so I have double the reason to read it. Thanks to your post, it’s been bumped to the top of my reading list!

     
  2. Susan

    June 14, 2010 at 6:29 am

    The Egypt Game is another book that I read as a child that has stuck with me. Reading your post makes me want to read it again…perhaps I should take the challenge with you, and read the 100 books as well…

     

Leave a Reply

 
